Using Bevy Virtual

This article explains how to create a Bevy Virtual event - looking for Bevy Virtual Conference, please go here

Key terms

We have 2 roles in a Bevy Virtual event session:

  1. Host: They are the admins of the event. They can mute/remove attendee, attendees, toggle presenter mode on/off, block chat, etc. By default, anyone on the chapter team who can create an event automatically join as hosts. Community admins also join as hosts. Neither of these can be demoted as hosts.
    1. Hosts can promote attendees to other hosts. Promoted hosts during the event can be demoted by any host. 
  2. Attendees: They are non-admin registrants for the event. By default, attendees do not get audio/video access. They simply view video of presenters & hosts, and may engage in chat
Note: You can promote an attendee to a presenter or host during the session. Hosts are not given audio/video by default, and need to enable presenter mode in order to gain audio, video, and screen sharing controls. Hosts with presenter mode off are typically those with moderation controls during the event.

Creating a Bevy Virtual Event

In order to leverage Bevy Virtual to host your next virtual event, follow the instructions below. Learn more about creating events.

  1. Start by creating a Virtual Event. Don't have a Virtual Event type yet? Click here to learn about creating event types
  2. Scroll to the Virtual Event Platform section of Step 1
  3. Click the drop-down menu under “Select virtual event platform” and choose Bevy Virtual
  4. Fill out the rest of your event details and click Save Draft or Publish at the bottom of the page
Note: Users are able to change existing live virtual events to Bevy Virtual in a chapter where it is enabled. Even if they started as an External URL. Our permalink will account for the changing underlying URL so no notification has to be sent to attendees for the virtual event URL change.  Learn more about Virtual Event permalinks.

Attendee list 

The attendee list is filtered in the following order: you, host/presenters, presenters, hosts, and then all attendees in alphabetical order by first name. All attendees are shown in a scroll.

For conferences, you will see 30 attendees in the list before you see a Load More button.  You'll see the attendee list filtered in the following order, you and then all attendees below sorted by time joined.

Muting all Attendees with Presenter Mode

To mute all attendees with Presenter mode enabled, click on the Attendees icon on the top right corner of the screen, to open the Attendee list. Click Mute all attendees.  

Enabling Presenter Mode

As a default setting, no attendee, including hosts, have audio/video controls upon entering the room. Hosts of the event will get alerted to enable presenter mode to gain audio/video and screenshare controls upon joining the event or upon being promoted to host during the event. 

Once you click Enable, you may have to allow your browser to use your microphone and camera. 

As a host, your Audio, Video, and Screen Share controls will then be available for you to use.

Hosts will have to enable presenter mode for attendees to provision audio/video and screen share capabilities. This can be done by clicking on the drop down arrow next to their name in the attendee list and choosing Presenter mode on.

Once an attendee is given Presenter access, they will see a modal asking them to accept this access, as well as browser checks asking them for permission to access their camera and microphone. 

For any attendee that no longer needs Presenter mode on, a Host will be able to turn Present mode off.

Change Your Audio/Video Settings 

If you have presenter mode enabled, you are able to see the audio/video controls in the bottom menu bar. Click on the arrow next to the microphone or the camera icon to adjust your audio or video devices, respectively.

Note: In order to give audio, video and screenshare capabilities to an attendee, enable presenter mode by clicking the arrow next to their name in the attendee list.

When the mic and/or video icons are red, your mic and/or video is turned off, and participants will not be able to hear and/or see you. 

When these icons are grey, they have been turned on, allowing the participants to hear and/or see you.

Sending a Message in Chat

  • Send a message to all attendees of your virtual event
  • Go to this article to see How to send Emoji's, Markdown Text and other features

Moderating the Chat 

As a host, from a message in chat, you have the ability to:

  1. Delete an attendee's message: This is done in the same way you would delete your own message 
  2. Block an attendee from chat: This will prevent the attendee from further messaging in the chat for 24 hours.

See more Moderating Tools here

Ending the Event/Leaving Event

Start by clicking the Leave button with the phone icon at the bottom right corner of the screen. Only a host of the event has the ability to end the event for all attendees. If you are the host and you would like to end the event for all, click End Event for All. You will leave the event automatically and be redirected to the event page.

Otherwise, if you are an attendee and you would like to exit the event yourself, click Leave event.

View List of Check-ins

Anyone that attends the event will be auto-checked in. For more information on event Check-in, read this article on Checking in Attendees.To access the list of those who were checked in, follow the steps outlined in this article: Exporting attendee list

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us